Monday, October 29, 2007

Bush names prestigious medal winners

Bush names prestigious medal winners
Posted on Mon, Oct. 29, 2007
The Associated Press

President Bush on Monday announced the recipients of this year's
Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian award.

Those to be honored at a White House ceremony on Nov. 5 are:

- Gary Becker. The economist and 1992 Nobel Prize winner is being
honored for broadening the understanding of economics and social
science, and for helping to improve the standard of living around the world.

- Oscar Elias Biscet. A human rights advocate and champion of freedoms
in Cuba, Biscet is a political prisoner in Cuba who is being recognized
for his fight against tyranny and oppression.

- Francis Collins. The director of the National Human Genome Research
Institute is being honored for his leadership of the Human Genome
Project and for greatly expanding the understanding of the human DNA.

- Benjamin Hooks. The NAACP's former executive director is considered a
pioneer of the civil rights movement.

- Henry Hyde. The Illinois Republican served for 32 years in the House,
where he was known for his battles against abortion rights and his
leading role in the impeachment of President Clinton. He is being
honored as a "powerful defender of life" and an advocate for strong
national defense, the White House says.

- Brian Lamb. The president and CEO of C-SPAN is being recognized for
elevating the public debate and making the government more accessible.

- Harper Lee. The author is being honored for outstanding contributions
to American literature, including her beloved book, "To Kill a Mockingbird."

- Ellen Johnson Sirleaf. The president of Liberia and the first woman
elected president of an African nation, she is credited with working to
expand freedom and healing a country torn apart by conflict.

The Medal of Freedom was established by President Truman in 1945 to
recognize civilians for their efforts during World War II. The award was
reinstated by President Kennedy in 1963 to honor distinguished service.
It is given to those deemed to have made remarkable contributions to the
security or national interests of the United States, world peace,
culture, or other private or public endeavors.

No comments: